Hello world!

Standard

This is my third attempt at a blog.  Both previous ones have been related to my ongoing depression and my path to recovery from it, but this is an attempt to take a more positive approach – hence the One Positive Thing Every Day title – even if the positive thing I achieve is very tiny, I am going to celebrate it just a little bit here, because I have come to the conclusion that it is a lot of small positive achievements that will help me get better.

Managing to have a shower, or to get up when the alarm goes off, instead of hitting the snooze button many, many times, having a healthy lunch, or remembering to have breakfast, or doing some housework, are all things that most people manage without thinking about them every day, but for me, depression makes everything a struggle – just thinking about doing these things is like wading through treacle, and actually doing them is worse.  But I do know that I feel better when I achieve something, so I am going to look for the positive things, the little achievements, and be pleased about them.

One of the biggest positives in my life at the moment, is crafting, the pleasure that I get from making something attractive, and the wonderful friends that it has brought into my life – so I am going to make this a crafty blog too (at the urging of some wonderful friends from Mumsnet).  I’m going to upload pictures, and tell you about the projects I want to try – though at the moment, the only things I am actually finishing are blanket squares.  I am part of two blanket knitting projects – one called Woolly Hugs, which is a mumsnet project where we knit squares that are hooked together into blankets by two wonderful mumsnetters, and then given to mumsnet members who have lost a partner or a child – they are our small attempt to offer some comfort when we can’t physically be there for them – hence the ‘Woolly Hugs’ name, and so far we have made, I think, 15 blankets – that’s a lot of hugs.  The other blanket project has been organised via Facebook, by the friends of Leigh Kinnaird.  Their first blanket was for her daughter Aillidh, who was fighting Acute Myeloid Leukaemia, and was buried with Aillidh after her death this month – so now the group are making two more blankets, for Aillidh’s brother and sister.  I am proud to be part of these groups, and to be able to do something to help people this way.

Anyhow – that’s an introduction to this blog – I hope it’s not too boring or me me me.

One Positive Thing for Today:

I had a healthy breakfast – fruit and fibre.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

3 responses »

  1. Can’t wait to see pictures of your squares!
    Hope that this blog helps you to keep in mind all the positives in life as well as sharing your crafting skills 🙂

Leave a Reply

