More than one Positive Thing!!

Standard

Yes, gentle reader, today has been a very good day.  I thought it was going to be good, because I was booked to go to a freeform crochet class at my favourite wool shop in West Kilbride – McHatties – run by my lovely friend Linda – and I was looking forward to learning something new, something I have been wanting to learn ever since I saw a piece of freeform crochet that Linda did.

So N drove me over to West Kilbride, and dropped me off (he was going to take the dogs to the beach, for running and swimming), and I went into the shop – and my day got even better because not only was Vanessa in the shop (she’s a friend I haven’t seen for a while), but two other wonderful friends, Mandy and Chris, turned up with Linda for the class.

And it was an afternoon full of beautiful yarn, a myriad of colours and textures, learning, laughing and blethering.  I got the hang of some of what Linda was showing us (though my bobbles aren’t as good as my clusters, and my bullion stitch isn’t gold by any means), and by the end, I had produced the start of a piece of fabric. Freeform crochet is crochet without rules – no pattern or guidelines or straight rows – you just do what you want.  You start off with metre lengths of different yarns – different colours, textures and weights – tie them all together and roll them into a ball – the Magic Ball, and then you start to crochet – you can start going in one direction and change to doing something totally different, or you can let the yarn make the fabric change, or a bit of both.  And since I have never crocheted a neat rectangle in my life, nor followed a crochet pattern, this was ideal for me.

I only produced a little piece, but it is a start, and I know I can just keep on adding to it – after all, I have plenty of different yarns in my stash, just begging to be used.  But for the moment, this, below, is what I have achieved thus far:

Image  

So that was more than one Positive Thing – but it didn’t end there – ohhh no!  McHatties is a shop full of wicked temptation for the knitter or crocheter, and I didn’t resist temptation.  I found a beautiful, multicoloured silk yarn, in vibrant shades of red, yellow, green, teal, purple, orange and pink.  It is so soft and luxuriously touchable – just holding it is a pleasure, so knitting with it and wearing it are going to be even better.  I’m going to use it with a skein of deep purple Debbie Bliss Andes yarn – a silk/baby alpaca mix, that is equally lovely to the touch.  I only have two skeins, so I think a scarf is probably the best choice, and I am thinking about doing it in a textured stitch, like bramble stitch, alternating the yarns.  Watch this space for the scarf (I do have other projects nominally ahead of it in the queue, but my lust to use this yarn may cause queue-jumping), but there’s a picture of the yarns below – not a terribly good one, but I was too impatient to get out the proper camera, and faff around with memory cards – much easier to take a picture on the iPad and email it – but hopefully you’ll be able to get some idea of why I HAD to have this yarn!

Image

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

