Home made soda bread.

Standard

I made this bread this morning, from the recipe given to me by my lovely friend May, from knitting group.  She is the most wonderful, elderly lady – always beautifully turned out, funny, caring and generous – and just a little bit strict, in the way the best grandmothers are – so when she gave me the recipe last week, I knew she would be checking up to see if I had made the bread when I see her tomorrow!

I haven’t cut the loaf yet, but it looks absolutely gorgeous, as you can see below – I am waiting until N gets back from walking the dogs, so he can admire it in all its crusty glory before it starts to vanish.  May is absolutely sure that once the boys start eating it, they won’t stop until it is all gone, and I suspect she may be right – teenage boy bottomless pit stomach + delicious soda bread = only crumbs left on the breadboard!

Image

So my Positive Thing for today is making this wonderful looking soda bread.  And later on, N and I are going to go to see Brave at the cinema, so that will be fun too.

UPDATE:

I was right about there being nothing left but crumbs – but it wasn’t the boys that ate the bread – it was the dogs!!  N, No1 son and I each had a slice – and it was lovely – and the rest was put in a cake box on the kitchen table, out of reach (or so N thought).  We got a text during the adverts at the cinema – No3 son had come home to find the cake box on the floor, and nothing left but crumbs and seeds.  And the dogs are looking suspiciously replete!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

