A tidy kitchen!

Standard

I know most people have a tidy or tidyish kitchen all the time, but housework is one of the things that I really struggle to motivate myself to do.  It feels like a never-ending task – I feel like the house is never, and has never been, totally tidy and sorted, so I am on the back foot from the word go, and there’s just too much to do.  And however much I do, with three teenage boys, one husband, two dogs and a cat in the house, it gets untidy much faster than I can tidy – plus I really resent the fact that when I do make the effort and get a room looking really lovely and tidy, no-one else ever makes the effort to keep it that way – so I don’t.  It’s like the enormity of the task paralyses me – but the stupid thing is that this just makes the task get bigger and even more threatening.

Anyway, today I did manage to get something done – I have tidied the kitchen, and now it just needs a good wipe-down.  I do have something of a spur to getting things done, as my sister and her husband are arriving at the end of the week, and I would like the house to be cleaner than it is now.  I think I read somewhere “I do more cleaning in the hour before visitors arrive than I do in the whole of the rest of the week” – well, that’s me (though it should say month).

Tomorrow I will do more tidying and cleaning after the morning’s knitting group at a lovely local tea room.  If the internet were to go down for the afternoon, that might help……

But even though it’s not much by other people’s standards, I think that having done some tidying – and feeling good about it – is a Positive Thing.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

