Some positive things, and a headache.

Standard

I have to admit that the headache is making me feel less inclined to be positive.  I’ve taken neurofen, and hopefully it is on its way out – though we have to go to Tesco to do the weekly shop, which may well bring it back again – but apparently one needs to feed one’s family.  Who knew!!

But today’s positive is that I am sitting at a tidy desk, the hall table is tidy, the front room is tidier, and I have done some paperwork that needed doing.  Tomorrow I will need to run round with the polish and the hoover, and mop the kitchen floor, and then the house will be, if not beautiful, at least sanitary for my sister and brother-in-law.  And No1 son has cleaned and tidied his room and the bathroom, so they will have somewhere nice-ish to sleep and ablute.

I am looking forward to seeing my sister – we have got on a lot better in recent years than we ever have in the past (not that we had any huge fallings-out, but just drifted apart).  Unfortunately her husband is not a lover of either cats or dogs, and he is likely to find bouncy, barky new dog a bit of a trial.  But our home comes with the dogs and a cat, and that’s just that.

Actually the dogs are one of the constant Positive Things in my life – when they come up on the sofa and curl up next to me, and snuggle in – it is such unconditional love and acceptance.  Maybe it’s this love from them that is helping me to learn to accept love and acceptance from others – I hadn’t thought of that before, but it could well be.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

