Knitting group and choir.

Standard

Yesterday was Monday, so I went to my favourite activity of the week – knitting group at Lochwinnoch.  I carried on knitting the Hitchhiker scarf (I think I have already mentioned this), and made some good progress, in the gaps between chatting with the other lovely knitters, and drinking the delicious coffee liberally provided by Nigel – he runs the kitchen at the golf club, and waits on us hand and foot.  He knows what we all drink, and when you arrive, your regular drink simply arrives in front of you – and when it comes to the first cup of coffee of the day, that kind of service is really appreciated.

My Positive Thing for the day isn’t knitting group (though it could be, every Monday) – instead it’s the fact that I managed to be sufficiently well organised to feed myself and No3 son before we had to go out to our evening activities (hockey practice for him and choir rehearsal for me) – this is almost unheard-of, and it is far more normal for us to have to microwave our suppers when we get home – and as choir practice doesn’t finish officially until 10pm, that is a bit late to be eating, in all honesty.  However, it all worked beautifully last night, which proves it could work beautifully every week, so that’s a challenge.

Rehearsal was good too – we started three new pieces, all Early Music, which I love, and I felt that I picked things up reasonably quickly.  We worked hard, and our conductor decided that we would work through until 9.30 without a break and then go home, so I was back earlier than I had expected – which was just as well, as the day’s headache had decided to make its appearance.  It was not helped by N coming home fulminating about No1 son’s lack of organisational skills, and the discussion of said lack with said son when he got home – a nice, stressful end to the day.

No headache this morning, though – and it is a sunny day here.  No1 son has tackled some of his jobs for the day (hopefully the Come-To-Jesus talk he got last night has sunk in a bit).  I slept much better than I have done recently, so hopefully the headache will not emerge at all.

Ooops – I forgot a Positive Thing for today.  Let me see – a delicious salad for tea, and I had the motivation to make it.  Plus I got on with knitting the Hitchhiker scarf, and it is looking good.  Yup – that’ll do.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

