Ohhh blimey!

Standard

I seem to have missed more than a few days << blushes >>.  But I have been trying to stay positive, even though I haven’t been reporting back here.

Life has been whizzing by here, even though I don’t seem to have got much actually done.  Though that’s not entirely true – I have been getting lots more sleep, thanks to over-the-counter sleeping tablets, and hopefully that has broken the cycle of insomnia for the moment.

I’ve also been shopping for more craft projects – I have some decopatch to do (you get cardboard items – boxes, picture frames, models etc, and use thin, colourful craft papers to cover them to make your own item), and I went to felt-making group last week, and made a pot/vase/vessel – to be honest, it’s a bit hard to know what to call it, but it was made around an inflatable beachball, and when the fleece had all felted well enough, the ball was deflated and taken out, and the opening enlarged, and then I shaped the vessel into it’s final form.  I think it’s going to be a yarn-holder, for my ball of wool to sit in whilst I’m knitting, so it can’t escape and skitter away when I pull a length of yarn out.  It’s actually the first time I have made an item out of the felt I have made, and though I have been pleased with the fabric and beads I’ve made previously, it is very nice to have something I can use.

I’m posting a picture here, so you can see what I’ve made.  Looking at the picture, it does look worryingly like the pods that the baby aliens come out of, in the film Alien……

Image

I’m not sure it’s finished yet – I am considering either embroidering and beading onto it, or maybe needlefelting onto it with some wensleydale fleece locks, to give a seaweedy look.

Other positive things – I have managed to do some more housework than I would normally do – N and No2 son were away for the weekend, and I stripped and changed our bedding, washed the used bedding and ironed it all too.  And I cleaned the kitchen, whilst waiting for them to get back late sunday night.

I’ve also written a short piece about the knitting group, for the local news magazine in the village where the group meets – it’s to advertise both the group, and the craft fair that we are a major part of, which happens at the end of next month.  I’ve also had a friend round for coffee, and have ordered even more merino fleece tops, for next month’s felt making group; and have made arrangements to go down to London to meet up with some other knitting mumsnetters at the Knit and Stitch show at Alexandra Palace – which is a big deal for me, as it involves going well out of my comfort zone.  I’ve also got involved in organising a local meet up with the Glasgow knitting mumsnetters, and am really looking forward to that.  For me, it is a very positive thing that I can not only make the decision to get out of the house and go to something (which can be a lot harder than you’d think – there’s a very persuasive voice at the back of my head telling me I’d much rather stay at home, and it is hard to ignore), but that I can actually look forward to it, rather than dreading it.  I do try to make myself do whatever it is, even if I am dreading it (not always successfully, I have to confess), and I know that I will enjoy whatever it is once I am there – but I would far rather not dread things, and actually look forward to them insted.

I’m off on my travels tomorrow too – my sister and I are going to visit my mother for a couple of days.  I’ll travel down to the West Midlands by train, and my sister will pick me up at a convenient station for her – she’s coming up from the south – and drive us both back to Mum’s house, and then on Friday she’s going to drop me to a train so I can go into London and get the sleeper back to Glasgow.  It will be good to catch up with my sister, and to see Mum (I haven’t seen her for a year, as distance, my depression and her health issues have got in the way), and I am also looking forward to the journeys too.  Going down, it will be good to have some time to myself, with peace and quiet to listen to music, read, knit or just look out of the train window; and coming back on the sleeper seems romantic, and out-of-the-ordinary.

But now I really should go and make a start on the list of things that need to get done before I can leave – little things like packing, printing out my ticket for the sleeper, sorting things out so N can look after the house and the boys without too much hassle (including making the shopping list, otherwise heaven knows what we’ll end up eating next week) – oh, and cooking casserole for tonight’s supper.  The arrival of the colder weather has reopened the possibility of all the lovely comfort foods – and tonight will be beef casserole, with carrots and pearl barley, served with baked potatoes and dumplings – I can’t wait!  But it won’t happen unless I get it in the oven, so I had better get off the computer, and get doing!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

