Oh blimey (part 2)

Standard

Eeek – 8 days missed.  And to be honest, I am not sure I have found something positive for each of those days.  I haven’t been sleeping well, and that does rather tend to colour my reactions and feelings – as does the fact that I have a rash – like heat rash – on my arm, that has been there for some weeks now, and itches like fire sometimes.

But, things haven’t been wholly negative – in fact there have been positive things, and I have noticed them.  The visit to my mum went well – it was good to spend time with just her and my sister, and we enjoyed catching up on all eachother’s news, and we had an afternoon out in Ludlow, visiting the Food Centre there – which is a mecca for foodies, and somewhere I could have spent an awful lot of money, had it not been for the fact that I would have to carry it all back on the train!  I did buy some interesting cheeses, as a treat for N, to thank him for making it possible for me to go.

I also enjoyed going back with my sister to her house in Bucks, and seeing all the work they have had done to it – a beautiful new, extended kitchen and sunroom, and extensions and redecorating upstairs too.  They have done a lovely job of it – and it is sleek and modern without being characterless – indeed, it is the opposite – it is warm and welcoming, and utterly suited to the two of them.

The sleeper trip back was not so good – for some reason, the Caledonian Sleeper fitted sheets are too short for their mattresses – not by a small amount either, so they come untucked almost instantly, and you end up sleeping on the mattress cover, which is not so comfortable.  But it was a smooth journey back, with a bit of a delay that meant we arrived in Glasgow at a convenient time for N to drive in and collect me.  And I was woken in my cabin by the steward delivering a cooked breakfast of bacon, sausage, omelette, mushrooms and tomato, which I ate sitting up in bed, and feeling very decadent!

The knitting meet-up with the Glasgow mumsnetters also went very well – we sat in the cafe at the Burrell Collection from 11am until nearly 4pm, knitting, gossiping, eating cake, and generally having a very good time indeed.  I made another square for a mumsnet blanket (or Woolly Hug) – in a mid slaty blue, knitted in bramble stitch, so I felt productive.  Plus, for me, it was good as it is somewhere I can drive to easily, and has plenty of parking, which does take away a couple of the things I tend to stress about in advance of such things.

Apart from that, my life has been fairly quiet – getting over the very small amount of sleep I got on the sleeper, knitting, watching tv and helping to get No1 son ready for university.  We’ve got him a certain amount of kitchen equipment, plates, cutlery etc, and some new bedding and towels – as well as a care package of food, with some staples like pasta and rice, stock and cereal in it, and some extras like biscuits and tinned chilli and tinned pies – so he will not starve (even if he does come home with scurvy).

I do have a Positive Thing for today – I have finished the Hitch hiker scarf, and am very pleased with it.  I finished knitting it yesterday, and sewed the ends in today, so I could take some pictures to put up on here – see below – and now it is soaking in conditioner, because it is knitted of a 75% wool yarn, so is a bit itchy, and I hope the conditioner will help with this.

ImageImage

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

