Felt making and crochet.

Standard

I could have titled this ‘Wednesday and Thursday’ – but that seemed a little unimaginative, so instead it is titled for the activities I did on those two days.

Wednesday was feltmaking group, and I felt very uninspired indeed, so spent the day footering around with needle felting shapes using cookie cutters.  In the last hour and a half, I made two larger flowers, using a small fondant cutter to make the petals, then needlefelting the whole thing together, and I am quite pleased with those.  I might put brooch pins on the back, and see if anyone will give me a couple of pounds for them at the craft fair.  Or I might sew the whole lot onto the piece of felt fabric I made a couple of months ago, line it with some bright pink shot silk fabric I have, and make a bag out of it.  Decisions, decisions.  Anyway, here’s a picture of what I made at felt group.

Image

 

The positive thing was that, even though I didn’t feel very inspired, I went to felt group anyway, stayed the full time, and had a good time with my friends there – and did manage to make some attractive things, even if I had no real purpose in mind when I made them.

Thursday was a very quiet day – I was very tired, so didn’t do much at all, apart from crocheting more hexagons for my mini-hug, writing the menu and shopping list for next week, making a chicken curry for tea, and then going out with N to do the weekly shop – which was knackering.

I do have a Positive Thing, though – and that is that I have pretty much committed the pattern for my crochet hexagons to memory, which makes me feel very efficient and crafty as I crochet away.  I think I may have enough, or almost enough, hexagons for my first mini-hug, and I will have a look at what I’ve got on Sunday, and see if I can get one made.  Then I am going to go on and make another one, as I have loads of yarn left I may have bought too much but don’t tell N I said that!!

I am off to London on the sleeper tonight, to go to the Knit and Stitch show at Alexandra Palace tomorrow – I am going to be there early so I can have a good look round, and then I am meeting up with a bunch of mumsnetters, and we are going to have a picnic lunch and a good gossip, and then maybe look around a bit more – though I want to be on either the 4.30 or 5.30 trains out of Euston back to Glasgow, as I don’t want to be back too late, and I think I will be pretty knackered by then!  The positive thing is that, even though I am rather nervous about the whole thing – will I sleep on the sleeper, will I get a sore hip like last time, will I get lost in London, will I have enough energy to walk round the show, will I find the mumsnetters and will they like me, etc, etc etc, I am not having the ‘I just won’t go, I’ll make an excuse and cry off’ feelings that I would have had not too long ago.  And would probably have given into, too.  So that is a good thing.

Another positive thing, that crops up time and again, is my mumsnet friends, especially the wolefs (misspelling intentional) – they are inspirational, funny, intelligent, caring women, and I am privileged to have them as my friends.  And I am learning to believe the nice things they say about me, too.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

