The wonderful people in my life.

Standard

Two candles are burning on my desk, as my thoughts and prayers are with cupofteaplease – a mumsnetter – whose lovely daughter Beatrice died last week, aged 1 year, 1 month, 1 week and 1 day old.  Today she is being laid to rest.  Mine are not the only candles burning in memory of this lovely girl, nor is my heart the only one full of love for her family – many mumsnetters have prayed for Bea and her family throughout her life, and are praying for them now too.  

And this is my positive thing for the day is how wonderful people are – the way people can, and so often are, loving and caring even towards people they have never met.  Mumsnet is not perfect – it is made up of human beings so how could it be perfect – but it shows how people can reach out to others in love, how, even on the interweb, a community can form.  I am so lucky to know these people – I have received support from them, been accepted by them, been able to reach out and help others through the community and my life has been immeasurably enriched as a result.

It’s not restricted to the internet either.  This week I met up with a friend who I made through the counselling group I attended.  We met for coffee, and spent over 2.5 hours talking and laughing together.  I know I can ring her if I am going through a dark or difficult patch, and she knows the same about me.  She is a true blessing in my life.

The knitting group has brought other blessings into my life – like the lovely lady who told me to look up Positive Affirmations on the net, and to use them.  And she gave me one on the spot – If I can walk alone, I can go anywhere.

So people are my Positive Thing for the moment – their caring, loving, thoughtful presences in my life.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

