Clean house, good friends and a visit from my mother-in-law – life is good.

Standard

 

 

 

 

 

photo (9)

My second crocheted mini-hug, which will be going to Yorkhill Hospital, to be a comfort blanket for a sick child.  I loved making this, and am really pleased with the results – and more pleased that it is going to a good cause!

Starting with the positives – I have been pretty industrious today, by my standards!  The downstairs has been vacuumed, and I have mopped the kitchen, utility and dining room floors.  Supper (beef and orange casserole) is in the oven, and the veg are peeled and ready to cook.  I have tidied (a bit), and remembered to wrap N’s birthday presents for tomorrow.  All this industry is in honour of my mother in law – a lovely lady – who is arriving in just under an hour.  I really enjoy spending time with her, and always look forward to her visits.  But I do feel as if I have to buck up my usually lax domestic standards when we have visitors.  Not that she’d judge me, but I’d judge me, if you know what I mean.  She’d rather roll up her sleeves and help me than have me fret about the cleaning – but I can’t break myself of the habit of cleaning up before she gets here!

I was going to open this post with a bit of a whinge about how my cold is still hanging on, and I am feeling tired and snotty, but I didn’t.

I have some wonderful on-line friends, from mumsnet.  They read this blog sometimes, and I just want them to know how much I love them, and value their friendship, and the genuine caring they give so freely.  I am so happy to be a part of our group.  Who knows – you might even be helping me towards sanity (steady on there)!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

