A bit better.

Standard

I feel a bit more positive today – for a start, the weather here is a little better than yesterday (as in, it is not raining yet!).  I’ve got some lovely, plum coloured wool that has been sent to me by a lovely, anonymous donor, so that I can knit a square or two for another mumsnet Woolly Hug – and whilst it is definitely NOT a good thing that another Hug is needed, it is good to be able to do something tangible to offer support in such sad circumstances.

I am going to do my usual squares – a plain, stocking stitch square, with a flower made up of individual knitted petal shapes appliqued on – I shall get going on that after lunch.

Knitting and crochet usually bring me a lot of pleasure – partly because I can see that I am creating something, and partly because of the beautiful colours and textures of yarn that are available nowadays – just looking and touching are a form of therapy.  As is seeing the amazing things that other people make – which is one of the things I love so much about the knitting group I go to on a Monday – it is full of such talented, inspired and inspiring crafters – not just yarn crafts, but silver craft, jewelry, individually, hand made bags, tablet, chilli jam, felt – the list is endless.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

