I’ve been to sleep, so now it is tomorrow!

Standard

And here I am posting Tuesday’s blog post.

Still no snow here – though I gather other parts of Scotland have been disrupted by plenty of the white stuff.  To be honest, I think we are glad not to have been hit, because it makes the boys’ paper rounds much harder, and often involves N (or sometimes myself) driving them round, which is no fun in icy conditions – though it would be dangerous for them to cycle, so we do it.

Two winters ago, we had a prolonged icy and snowy spell – about 6 weeks – and for the whole of that time, the boys were having to be driven round their rounds.  But N is very determined that people will get their papers – he sees it as a service, especially to elderly people who might not be able to get out and about.

It has been icy here overnight, and there is still frost on the ground – but the dogs seem to enjoy that.  I suspect that it changes the smells in the garden which makes them new and exciting again.

Today’s plan (if I work up the enthusiasm) is to tackle the kitchen, which is a mess.  People dump stuff on the kitchen table, and bottles of squash, fizzy water and mixers get left out on the sides, and as it is a small kitchen, it quickly becomes a complete pigsty, and it is time I girded my loins and did something about it.

In yesterday’s post, I forgot to mention choir, which was a Positive thing – the choir rehearsal, not the fact that I forgot to mention it.  I enjoyed the pieces that we were rehearsing – including one that made my heart sink when it was handed out.  I am, in general, not at all fond of modern music (which is pretty much anything post Mozart, as far as I am concerned), and we were given ‘O Sacrum Convivium’ by Olivier Messiaen – but I should have held off on my judgement, as it is a lovely piece, and I really enjoyed learning it.

As a result of this revelation, I have decided to back off from my original judgement that I was not going to enjoy the Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms that will be the big work in our summer concert.  According to our conductor, J, I should listen to the third movement first, and that will convert me, so I have bought and downloaded a recording of it, and will give it a go.  Which is a Positive Thing.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

