Being positive.

Standard

I ended yesterday’s post with a bit of a moan, and I am coming back today to say that I was wrong – choir was fun, and I enjoyed almost all the music we sang.  I am not so fond of one piece we are singing, but it did go well, so that was positive – there is nothing worse than disliking a piece and having to do it over and over again because it is going wrong – and at least when it does go right, there is the satisfaction of having achieved that, even if the piece itself wasn’t to my taste.

We did actually have some snow overnight – but not enough to make Piglet’s toes even slightly chilly.  It is quite fascinating how the weather systems work, and some people are up to their elbows in snow, with schools closing right, left and centre, whilst we are chilly but basically snow free, and the indications are that we will stay that way.  Unfortunately, in the summer (or ‘summer’, as it should be known in Scotland) we saw similar vast differences – other parts of the UK had sun – even to the stage of drought – and we had almost constant rain.  No danger of sunburn in our bit of Renfrewshire – though trenchfoot was a very real threat.

I really want to have some hot weather in the summer, so that N and I are able to take the dogs to the beach or to a loch and go swimming with them.  I love swimming in open water – the sea, or rivers or lakes, even though in this country that means very chilly water.  The last time we went on holiday to France, we visited the Gorge of Verdon, which is dammed up at the bottom, forming a reservoir/lake, and you can swim and boat (in either canoes, or little electric boats that you hire) in the lake and up the river.  It was the loveliest place to swim – cool, sweet water (with no salt or jellyfish), beautiful scenery, hot sunshine, and the boys had a wonderful time diving off the rocks into the river.  I could have spent days there, and would go back in a heartbeat.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

