Sunday – the day of rest.

Standard

I had a pyjama day yesterday – well, a nightshirt and fluffy dressing gown day, if we are being pedantic – and very nice it was too.  I started with the tennis – watching Andy Murray losing to Novak Djokovic in the Australian Open, and then found other things to watch for the rest of the day, and somehow avoided going and getting dressed.  I also seem to have forgotten to write my daily blog entry – mea culpa.

Yesterday’s positive thing was playing cards with No2 son and N, in the evening.  I have to confess that I was less than keen to join the game, but did it for my son – and I am glad that I did, because it was great fun – we were playing Racing Demon, which neither N nor I had played before, but which No2 son had learned from a friend.  The Positive Thing was partly that I made myself do something I was reluctant to do, and enjoyed it, and partly the fun of playing the game with my husband and son.

Today started early – and I am Not Good at early.  I had to be up in time to drive No2 son to his orthodontist appointment, so was up at 7.40am.  I have to wonder why I can make myself get up when I know I have to, but cannot make myself get up when there isn’t anything to get up for, but I know that starting the day earlier is better for me.

Today’s Positive Thing – staying on after all but one of the knitting group had left (I stayed because I didn’t want to desert the last lady), and having a lovely conversation with her.  And another positive thing is that people in the group chased me about my commitment to arranging some Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for myself, and provided me with the phone numbers of a couple of organisations that might be able to help me.  Friends are a real blessing.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

