Changeable weather.

Standard

So far this week, we have had rain, hail, sleet, snow, high winds and sunshine – occasionally all within the space of an hour or two!  At the moment it is sunny with some grey clouds, so I am feeling reasonably upbeat.

I am proud of myself because yesterday I ate healthily, apart from a cream horn.  I had a huge plate of raw veggies with blue cheese dip (made with low fat creme fraiche) for lunch, and made a tasty bean and sausage hotpot for supper.

Today, I will be having the raw veggies again, but supper is a hearty beef casserole, with baked potatoes and dumplings – proper, comforting, winter food!  Then on Friday, I am trying out another new recipe – an adaptation of one from mumsnet – Spiced chicken legs with apricot.  The original recipe uses pork chops rather than chicken legs, but I felt like chicken, so am substituting that.  I can serve it with couscous, which makes it an easy meal, too.  Which is just as well, as No2 son asked me to make a chicken and bacon pie for tomorrow’s supper, which is a bit time consuming, though not complicated – especially now I have been converted to the joy that is making shortcrust pastry in the food processor!

If I remember, I will take a photo of the pie and post it – I am usually quite pleased and proud of my pies.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

