Recurring dreams.

Standard

I know that it is poor form to talk about your dreams, but if I can’t do it here, then where can I do it?

I have some pretty weird dreams, and I remember a lot of them – either well enough to talk someone through them, or at least as a series of images.

I have one recurring dream at the moment.  The details vary, but the theme is that I have left my handbag somewhere stupid – outside a shop, whilst I go inside, for example, or on the steps of a church – and have come back to find it missing, or empty, or to find my purse has been stolen.  In the dream, I am always worried about how I am going to tell my husband what I have done, and I start panicking about phoning card providers to stop my cards.

My other recurring dream is one that I think other people have too, in some shape or form.  I call it the University dream, because that’s where it is often based.  In the dream, I am late completing a big piece of work, or it is halfway through the year, and I haven’t attended a single lecture on one of my subjects, or I can’t find what lectures I am supposed to be going to, or I am lost and can’t find the lecture theatre.  Sometimes it is in school, but mostly in university.

I think both these dreams are about anxiety – maybe it is a way of my subconscious processing some anxiety from my day – I don’t know.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

