A Snow Day.

Standard

We woke up this morning to a light covering of snow, and snow still falling.  Luckily it is the last day of half term, so the boys didn’t have to get to school in the snow, but they did have to do their paper rounds, though N drove over to the shop and collected the papers for them, to make it a bit easier.  Fingers are crossed here now, that it won’t freeze tonight, as it is already turning to slush (and the snow has turned to rain), so a sub-zero night would make the whole place into a skating rink – and as N is away early for a flight to London, I would have to get up and drive the boys to the paper shop, and maybe round their rounds too, because they are back to school tomorrow, so there probably wouldn’t be enough time for them to walk their rounds.

I should have been at felt making group today, but decided not to go because of the weather – it was snowing fairly heavily when I made the decision, and I didn’t want to tackle snowy roads that would be getting worse as the day wore on.  So another comfortable day at home, with the gas fire on, something good on tv, and my knitting is in prospect – and a nice prospect it is too.

I will phone my mother in law later, and see how she is feeling a day after the chemo – more crossed fingers that she has had a good night, and isn’t feeling nauseous today.

If I can work up the enthusiasm later, I am going to give the kitchen a good clean – it does rather need it.  But I am not feeling terribly excited by the prospect, I have to admit.  Positivity is a little lacking right at the moment.  But, as my therapist used to say, maybe I need to spend a while sitting with the feelings, rather than trying to deny their existence.  I think it is tiredness, and a trace of headache that is making me feel less positive, and those are both things that can be dealt with fairly easily – so that’s not a bad thing.

 

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

