Happy Valentine’s Day.

Standard

I was reminded this morning how much I used to dread valentine’s day, because when I was at school, nursing school and university, I so rarely had a boyfriend (and never at school) so never ever got a valentine – and felt very inadequate and left out as a result.  But when I posted that memory on FB, a lovely friend pointed out to me what a kind heart I have, which touched me so much.  I am learning to believe that people think I am a nice person, loveable and kind and good to know – and I need to embrace that and truly believe it, because I struggle to believe it of myself.

My lovely N bought me Cath Kidston smellies – we exchanged Valentine’s cards and gifts last night, because he was off at 5.15am to catch a flight to London, and won’t be back until tomorrow night.  I bought him a cuddly lion toy – so he won’t have to nick mine any more!  While he is away, I am going to knit Bert the Lion a scarf, so we can tell which is whose.  But tonight, I get to cuddle them both!

Then this morning, he sneaked into the bedroom and left me a vase of roses and a box of chocolates.  I feel very spoiled and very loved.

Bert the lion

Bert the lion.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

One response »

Leave a Reply

