Yay me.

Standard

Not only was I out of bed before 9am, as per yesterday’s resolution, I have also made a start on cleaning the kitchen, by cleaning out my oven (which was in Dire Need).  Lots of oven cleaner, and plenty of elbow grease later, the shelves are all shiny, as is the oven door, and the bits of the oven I can reach are much cleaner too.

I’ve also managed to stick to drinking water at night time, and not having sweets/cakes/treats during the week.  And I only used a scraping of butter on the toast I had for yesterday’s lunch too.

Which just goes to show that I can achieve things when I set my mind to them – which was a large part of my motivation for starting the small changes.

I am in a quandary about the sweater I am knitting, though.  The way I am increasing the bottom part of it is leaving a diagonal line, that I think will look a bit odd – so I have to decide whether to embrace the oddness, or applique something over the line and in its mirror image, to make it look as if there are two diagonals, or whether to pull back several hours of work, and try to do an increase that doesn’t leave a diagonal line, or forms a growing upside down V shape.  Oh, and I broke one of my lovely knit-pro interchangeable needle points last night, so have got to dig out an ordinary circular needle if I want to go on knitting today (I have already ordered a new set of points from ebay).

Update:

I have cleaned and polished the hob, and wiped down all the kitchen surfaces, so it is all clean, and I am feeling a sense of achievement.  And supper is in the oven too.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

