I forgot Friday – but welcome to the weekend anyway!

Standard

Ooops – I seem to have missed yesterday’s post!  But it was a positive day – good things happened, and I felt a sense of achievement.  Firstly, despite N having the day off, I didn’t take this as implicit permission for a long lie-in, but instead was up by 9am as per resolution.  And then we had a good day – we went for brunch at a local cafe, where we found out that a friend is expecting her first baby in 8 weeks, which is lovely news, and then we went and toiled round Tesco, doing the weekly shop – not a joyful or fun experience, but it needed doing, and it got done.

After that, I confess I had a fairly lazy afternoon – a bit of knitting, watching tv, and playing with the iPad.  So, in all, a nice, relaxing day.

Today, being the weekend, I have allowed myself a lie-in, but only an extra hour – and I got up when the alarm went off – there was no use of the snooze button, so I feel positive about that.  The rest of the day will involve laziness, and cheering on the Six Nations Rugby – France v Italy, and then England v Wales today, and then Scotland v Ireland tomorrow.  I shall be joining in with the national anthems – I enjoy learning new ones, even if only phonetically, and, sad individual that I am, I have them bookmarked, so I can turn to them quickly when the players start singing.

The Italian anthem is a bouncy, rococo piece, full of bravura and bravado.  The Marseillaise is amazing, if you read the translation – belligerant and warlike, full of triumph, glory, despots, and ending with a special children’s verse where they pledge to take up the arms of their parents and fight on to death if necessary. My favourites are Flower of Scotland, and the welsh national anthem.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

