Sweater progress.

Standard

That is yesterday’s Positive Thing.  I’ve finished the bottom section of my sweater/tunic, and picked up the stitches to knit the upper part – which involves shaping for the sleeves and the neck, so is going to be a bit more challenging, I think.  But I did try on the section I’d finished, before picking up for the top section, and the good news is that it fits!  If anything, it might be a bit baggy, but I do prefer things like that, rather than too tight, and I was standing up at the time, so that means that it will be comfortable when I sit down.

I have some other projects in mind after this one – I want to knit socks for my sister and her husband – they do quite a lot of walking, so I thought hand-knitted socks would be a nice part of their christmas presents this year.  I am hoping to use Rico bamboo, because it is so soft – and it is a self-patterning yarn, so very attractive too.  Then I want to knit myself a lacy shawl – I have 5 balls of indigo Debbie Bliss lace-weight wool, and would like to try something really ambitious, with lots of counting (and swearing, possibly probably).  I think I shall knit a jacket from the More Big Girls Knits book – the one I am basing the tunic on – at the same time, as it will probably be a much easier pattern to do, and so I can do it as a rest from the lacy one.

I’d also like to do a couple of blankets – one in bright coloured granny squares (I have a lot of 25g balls of acrylic, from a magazine subscription – one of those with a different square to knit each edition – to use up), and a knitted one, made of cotton squares – again, I have lots of balls of cotton to use up.  The problem with this one is designing the squares so they are interesting but still all more or less the same size.

Oh – and I have various other craft projects to do too – two skirts and some cushion covers to make, and some decoupatch to do, as well.  Must tear myself away from the computer and Do Stuff!

I am headache-y today, but still feeling pretty positive.  And so far, I have not forgotten that I have to go out in 20 minutes, to collect No2 son and take him to the orthodontist – he is finally nearing the end of his time in braces, which is great news.  I think today is a check up and then he goes back in a few days to have the braces taken off – and then there is one final check up and fitting for a retainer, which he has to wear for a while – and then I am assuming there will be a biggish gap before the last and final appointment.  

N is away until Friday, for work.  I used to hate him being away overnight when the boys were younger, but I cope well now – I do miss him, but I am confident I can manage fine whilst he is away – and that is today’s Positive Thing, because I think it demonstrates that I do have confidence in myself – and I need to acknowledge that as a good thing.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

2 responses »

  1. Hi. I also suffer from depression on and off – (throughout my life) and am working hard to maintain that equilibrium you speak of. I love your idea of a positive thing every day (in fact I have been thinking about starting a blog like that at some point, so, I was very impressed to find your blog. It’s a great form of therapy and very inspiring.)
    Well done – keep up the good work. You’re not alone. There are so many people like us – particularly mums – out there.

  2. Thank you for that, whyhersostroppy. Depression is a real bitch, isn’t it? It really does help to know we are not alone.

    Today is a reasonably good day, I think – despite the chilly, damp, greyness of the weather here in Scotland, and a nagging bit of a headache, I am still focused on being positive. I hope that you are having a good day too. xx

Leave a Reply

