Missing days again.

Standard

Oh dear – I seem to have slipped somewhat – I want this to be a daily blog, but it seems to be an every-other-day blog at the moment.  But I am trying to find the Positive Things each day, so I suppose it is better to forget the blog and remember to be positive, than the other way around.

Yesterday, my positive thing was that I had a bit more motivation and energy in the evening, and didn’t have to struggle to make myself get supper, or tidy up the kitchen afterwards.  It’s not just the fact that I did these things – N was not home until very late, so it was me or no-one – but the fact that it wasn’t such an uphill struggle, mentally, to do these things. 

Actually, if I look back over recent days, I think there are more examples of times I have felt this way – as if a bit of my get up and go, has come back.  And that is a hugely positive thing.

I am not sure what today’s positive thing will be – probably giving the kitchen a proper clean, and maybe running the vacuum round too – the dog hair is starting to build up again.  Actually, it began to build up again the minute I put the vacuum away last time.  Why is it that the dogs see a clean floor as a challenge?  They don’t understand that it would be nice if the floor stayed hair-free for a short while, at least.  They didn’t just shed a bit, either – they had a full-on wrestling match in the kitchen, and left lots of fur everywhere!

I wouldn’t be without them, though – they are so affectionate, and such very good company, and it makes me feel good to have them around.  This morning someone (No3 son is No1 suspect) left the stairgate open (we have a stairgate so the dogs can’t go upstairs unsupervised, because they eat all the cat’s food, and he’d starve), and the dogs came upstairs.  The first I knew about it was when Mia (a lab-pointer cross, weighing in at about 30kg) landed on the bed next to me, and lay down, half on my chest!  Then Coco (brown lab) arrived and curled up on the floor by the bed.  She didn’t dare get up on the bed as the cat was there.  He weighs in at a tiny fraction of her weight, but she is still scared of him – mind you, this is the dog who was once backed down the meadow by a mouse!  I stayed in bed a bit longer, just to enjoy having a cuddle with Mia.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

