Better late than never.

Standard

I didn’t get to the hoovering or the kitchen cleaning yesterday.  But I did get the chicken for supper marinading in teriyaki sauce (home made) for about 4 hours, and that made supper very tasty indeed, so I am counting that as a Positive Thing.  Plus, the fact that I’d chopped and marinaded the chicken, and chopped the onions ahead of time as well, meant that actually cooking supper was pretty quick and easy.

I know that I am more positive and motivated in the mornings, and that this drains away as the day goes on, and I should remember this fact, and try to do more in the mornings – getting supper ready, if it can be cooked in advance, or doing as much as possible of the prep ahead of time, for example – which would make things easier in the evening, when motivation is hard to come by.

That said, I did get things done yesterday evening – I mended No2 son’s school trousers, and also sewed up some holes in one of the dogs’ cuddly toys – a large, kapok-stuffed sheep.  He is a much-loved, but sadly much abused sheep, and has had numerous surgeries in his time.  The biggest was a facial reconstruction, carried out by myself, after he had come off worst in a tug-of-face-war game.  It is true to say that I will not be getting a job in plastic surgery any time soon.

Below are two pictures of the sheep – one of what could be termed his rear elevation, and the second face-on – and you will see exactly why he is now known as Frankensheep!

ImageImage

It probably sounds really daft, to have repeatedly mended a cheap, stuffed dog’s toy, but having mended him once or twice, I became quite committed to keeping Frankensheep in one piece – so each time we find a hole, I sew it up, and put Frankensheep through the wash.  When I did this last night, the trip through the washing machine unfortunately showed up a number of other weaknesses in Frankensheep’s skin, and I had to suture several lacerations before he could go through the tumble dryer!  He is, as you can see from the photos above, looking very dapper and fluffy now.  I just hope that the dogs are gentle with him, as I fear he may be too fragile to repair many more times.

Less vitally, I also put a load of washing through, sorted the dry laundry into ironing and non-ironing, and tumbled the next load of washing too.  All in all, a pretty positive evening, despite the unhoovered floors and unwiped kitchen surfaces.

And the good news for today is that I have done the hoovering – all of the downstairs.  And what is more, I did it in one go, without stopping for ‘rests’ as I have previously done – and it was a very quick job.  Hopefully quick enough and easy enough that I might be able to motivate myself to do it on a regular basis – which will be a real shock to my family.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

