Still sooo coooold!

Standard

It doesn’t help that the heating is off and the back door is open, of course.  These facts are related – the heating doesn’t go back on again until the afternoon, and I’m not going to switch it back on earlier because the back door is open; and the back door is open so that the dogs can wander in and out as they want – I think that is more fun for them.  But it does mean that my poor fingers are very cold indeed, and typing is not that easy.

I’m in the process of making myself a pair of fingerless mitts – an idea I got from one of my friends at knitting group.  They are literally just an oblong of knitting, seamed up one side, leaving a hole for the thumb, and extending up to the first finger joints – and they seemed to be very useful and warming yesterday – and you can knit in them (and type too, presumably).  I have a tiny bit of pure silk yarn, in rainbow colours, left over from a scarf I knitted last year, and some cerise pink cashmerino yarn, so I have got cuffs of the rainbow yarn, and the rest will be in the cerise, and I think they are going to be very warm and snuggly.  I will post a picture here when they are finished.

I’ve also achieved a couple of my small changes – I got up before 8.45am, only had a scraping of butter and peanut butter on my toast for breakfast, and I have tidied up the desk, and made a start on sorting out and tidying the table in the hall – which is the dumping ground for post, gloves and hats, assorted de-icer and pre-icer sprays for the car, and a variety of other things that don’t seem to have a proper home.  I will do what I can to rehome some of this stuff, but it has a life of its own, and will creep back onto the hall table as soon as my back is turned!  But N said that the pile of junk in the hall is starting to niggle him and could I sort it out this week, so if it has been done by the time he gets back (tomorrow night, unless he has a last-minute meeting arranged for Thursday), that will make him happy.  The biggest single item on there is a package of 10x100g balls of lavendery-purple stylecraft yarn that I am going to knit a cardigan with.  It is on my list of projects, but I need to find the yarn somewhere more suitable (and less obvious) to live, in the meantime.

 

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

