Meeting someone new.

Standard

I went to a mumsnet meet-up today – one that I organised as a MN local ambassador.  As per usual, this was outside my comfort zone – mainly because it meant meeting someone I didn’t know, and being responsible for the success of the meet up, but I am glad to say that these feelings weren’t as strong this time as they have been in the past, and, more importantly, that the meet up went well.  In fact the other lady and I hit it off really well, and talked for over 2 hours – and it just flew by!

Afterwards, I treated myself to lunch from the M&S food hall – where I did not succumb to the temptation of the chocolate and cakes, and instead came home with a box of melon and grapes for my pudding.  And, even though I reckon a meet up counts as a special occasion, I didn’t succumb to cake in Costa either – despite the exceedingly tempting array on offer – I had toast instead.

All in all, I think the small changes are going pretty well.  Not perfectly (there was a chocolate biscuit incident last night that we won’t mention, and the lie-in I have already owned up to), but I wasn’t expecting to be perfect from the word go, and I am not beating myself up for the occasional lapse.  I’m human, and it is OK not to be perfect, and a lapse is just that – not a failure.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

