Yesterday rugby, today, rain.

Standard

Yesterday was the last day of the Six Nations competition, and Wales won convincingly, by beating England 30-3.  Sadly Scotland did not beat France, but France still won the wooden spoon, because their margin of victory was not great enough.

Anyhow – I had an enjoyable day of sitting on the couch and watching burly men rolling around in the mud.  I could have done quite a lot of knitting, but managed not to do any at all.

Today started with breakfast in bed, and then a trip up to Braehead for coffee and cake, before going to collect the boys from their hockey match, and the afternoon will be a spot more tv viewing, perhaps with some knitting this time.

I am considering trying to make a felted iris, for my mother.  She grows and shows irises, but there is a competition coming up that is too early in the season for her to have any irises to show, so she is going to enter a competition for a display of various different iris related craft items.  I have promised to do her a knitted square with an iris on it, and it occurred to me that I might be able to make the different elements of an iris flower, its stalk and its leaf, out of a mix of needle felting and wet felting, and construct an iris for her to enter.  I will need a template for the petals – I might ask her to draw the shape she wants and post/email it to me.  If it works out, I will post a picture here – and if it doesn’t, I will never mention it again!  << grins >>

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

