A bit better.

Standard

I am still struggling with a tired and headache-y phase at the moment, but yesterday morning I got up on time, and gave the shower cubicle a really good clean before having my shower.  We’re in a hard water area, so the lime scale does tend to build up, unless N and I religiously squeegee the water off the glass each time we shower (and I have to confess that we haven’t been doing that, so it was getting a bit cloudy).  However, it is now all shiny and gleaming, and that is a tick in the housework box for me.

As is the nicely shiny cooker top, in the kitchen.  I put all the fitments for the hob, and the shelves from the oven through the dishwasher on Tuesday night, and gave the hob a good clean before reassembling it,  Today I would like to give the rest of the kitchen a tidy-up and a good wipe down, and then it will all look nice.  I might clean the inside of the oven door too – who knows.  Then if I hoover tomorrow, the house will look nice for the weekend.

It’s a lovely day here today – still very cold indeed, but sunny – and both dogs are outside, basking in the sunshine on our suntrap patio.  

I was selfish last night (apparently) – or neglectful or disrespectful – not sure which.  Anyhow, I confess that I was watching the television, rather than paying a suitable amount of attention to Mia, the needy black hound – so she came and sat directly in front of me, so I had no choice but to see her and admire her!  Serves me right, for thinking that the World Figure Skating championships were more important – lolol!

I have slipped a bit this week, with regard to the small changes I am making.  I had a couple of biscuits yesterday, and today I didn’t get up before 8.45am, though I was up by 9am.  But I am not beating myself up about this – I’m not having a terribly good week, so it is OK to go a bit easy on myself, and to let things slip a little.

Interestingly, since giving up the blackcurrant squash at night, I have noticed that I am more aware of sugar content in my drinks, and am avoiding the sugary drinks more than I ever used to, which can only be good for me.  I am drinking more water, and I am drinking milk – I know it has calories in it, but it also has protein and calcium, and is going to be better for me than sweet, sugary squashes or fruit juices, I think.

And I have been eating more fruit – particularly apples.  I love Coxes apples – they are deliciously crisp and juicy, and just the right blend of sweet and sharp, with a flavour all their own.  I suspect they will be vanishing from the shops pretty soon – the season must be nearly over – but then I will go onto Granny Smiths – they don’t have as lovely a flavour as the Coxes, in my opinion, but they are crisp, juicy and tart-sweet too, so I do enjoy them almost as much as the Coxes, and I will be eating plenty of them!

So – some small – well, failures isn’t the right word – back-steps, maybe – but on the whole, positive and worth a bit of a pat on the back for myself.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

