My fabulous son – warning, may contain boasting!

Standard

Last night we went to see No2 son in his school music and drama group’s show – which he wrote and for which he was Creative Director!  He’s been working this year as the pupil drama leader in the school (he’s a prefect and in sixth year, and they help out in many ways with the younger pupils), and he was asked to write the Musical this year, and wrote it to showcase the work of the group – both the experienced pupils who have been in the musicals before, and the new members who only started this year, but will form the backbone of the group next year and beyond.

It was an amazing evening, and I am bursting with maternal pride – the show was crazy, funny, full of energy and fun, and very well put together indeed.  He has gained so much confidence through participating in the different musicals, and it has helped him get over a history of bullying at his last two schools, and has opened the door to a world of friendship and fun for him.  He made a wonderful bunch of friends through the first musical, and his friendship circle has just grown and grown from thereon in – until his social life is wayyy better than mine (which is as it should be).  I have no worries at all about him settling into university and making friends there – and it is all thanks to the drama group and the school, and his lovely friends.

In other news, today’s headache is brewing gently.  I wonder if I am grinding my teeth in my sleep, as that could cause these headaches – but there isn’t a lot I can do about that, I don’t think.  But I can have a peaceful, relaxed day – I may even make home made soup – and hope that that defeats the pain.  Then tomorrow I have a lie-in to look forward to, and then, later on, No1 son comes home for Easter, so I can have a big hug from him.  So I shall ignore the headache and focus on the good stuff.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

