Happy Mondays

Standard

Another more positive day today.  I slept quite well, and was up before 8.45am, so I even had time for a mug of coffee and a skim through the newspaper, before going out to knitting group!  This is almost unheard-of!

I’ve taken a bit of a leap of faith at knitting group, and have split my tunic, to start shaping the back – fingers crossed I have done it at the right level, and it will look right when finished.  It does mean that a row is now only 125 stitches, rather than 250, which is a big improvement!  I do need to put the stitches for the front onto another cable, so that I can measure the tunic up against myself, and judge when the back is long enough – and then I have to work out how to shape for the neck – eeek!  But that is a few days away – it would be today, if I got my finger out and knitted hard this afternoon, but I don’t think I will be doing that – I foresee an afternoon of tv and internet, with maybe a bit of knitting, before heading off for choir this evening.  I must remember to leave choir at 9.30pm, in order to pick N up from the airport.

I have been thinking for a while, that I should take apart a velvet dress I made myself ages ago, and make it into a skirt – it is a beautiful deep cherry-red, and I love the colour, so it is a shame that I don’t wear the dress any more.  I think I would get far more wear out of a skirt, to be honest.  I would need to work out how to get enough fabric for a waist band, and I think I would want to pleat it and put a zip in – it is too bulky for gathers or elastication, I think.  It also occurred to me today, that there might be enough fabric in the bodice to make a cushion cover – but I would have to check that.  It would be nice if there were, though.  I shall report back!

One of the knitters was not knitting today – she’d brought some patchworking with her instead, and it was so pretty – all in pinks, with hearts appliqued on.  She also had some embroidery with her – a design she’d drawn out for herself, with a Rennie Mackintosh design, and it was so beautiful – I will remember it, and try to use the memory as inspiration to do more embroidery myself – though it would take years to get as good as Liz, I am sure.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

