Baking Saturday.

Standard

I did have a lie-in this morning, and ohh boy did I enjoy it!  And it got better when N brought up breakfast in bed – croissants and jam.  It does seem as if this has energised me somewhat, as the first thing I did when I got downstairs was to make a big pan of thai spiced sweet potato and coconut soup, which we had for lunch – it was quite spicy (I may have been a tad heavy handed with the red thai curry paste).  I also whipped up a batch of parmesan shortbreads – a lovely, easy Nigella recipe that I did for the first time at christmas, and which was very popular indeed then.  They are out of the oven and cooling now, and I am in the middle of making a batch of hot cross buns.

I have made hot cross buns before – in a class called Entertainment Cookery at VIth form college – but I’ve never made them again since, until the Great British Bake-Off Easter masterclass programme inspired me to have a go at Paul Hollywood’s buns (arf).  The dough is made and is proving, and my next task is to find and weigh out the dried fruit to go in it, along with the orange zest and cinnamon (I’m not going to put apple in mine – it may be sacrilege to alter a Paul Hollywood recipe, but apple in hot cross buns just sounds wrong to me).

In the meantime, N and I are doing some sorting out in the library-cum-office.  Well – at the moment, he is carting books around, and I am sitting at the computer writing this entry, but I have been helping a bit.  We are hoping to a) get rid of some books we no longer want, to the charity shop and b) make space for all the new books that are currently cluttering up every spare surface in the room.  This is mainly my fault, as I am the one who buys the most books – and my ever-expanding library always needs more and more and more space.  I need to stop writing now, and start sorting out the books.

photo (22)

Parmesan biscuits.

So – to close – my positive thing for yesterday – hmm – I am not sure there really was one.  It was a fairly blah day – made a shopping list, went to Silverburn and had sushi – actually that was fun, so I will count that as a positive thing – and then did the weekly shop.  Today, on the other hand, seems very positive – some cooking, some home baking and some organising and tidying – a positive whirlwind of action.  I seem to get more stuff done when N is here – he is very good at getting things started, and motivating me to join in, and then we finish them off together – though he does do much more than me.  He is a hero, and a positive thing in my life.

photo (26)

 

Hot cross buns – not as beautiful as Paul Hollywood’s, but I hope they will taste as good!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

