Happy Easter!

Standard

I celebrated with the longest lie-in I have had in weeks – I slept until nearly midday, despite N bringing me a mug of coffee earlier in the morning.  I couldn’t prize myself out of sleep’s grip long enough to drink any of it, and didn’t surface properly until he came up later with a second mugful (in a mug bearing the legend ‘I’d rather be in bed’) and hot cross buns, for a late breakfast in bed.  Even then I didn’t get up – I stayed in bed and snuggled with the dogs, and read my book until 1pm, and only then did I get up and have a shower.  But I must have needed the sleep, so I am not going to beat myself up over it.

N and I are going to do some more sorting-out in the office/library today – having made space on the shelves yesterday, I now want to juggle some books around so all my craft books are together, maybe with my recipe books too – and hopefully that will mean we can reconfigure the remaining shelves to get an extra shelf of space, which would be very useful.  I also need to go through the shelves and see if there are any books I am not going to read again, and they can go to the charity shop, which will make a bit more space.

I’ve also got the Boat Race to watch this afternoon.  When the boys were little, we had friends who had a flat that overlooked the start of the Boat Race at Putney, who hosted a Boat Race party, and we went a couple of times, which was great fun (except when the tube broke, and we had to get from Fenchurch Street to Putney without using the underground, on a Sunday.  That was a challenge – but at least we were still above ground when the tube actually broke – so we weren’t stuck on a train in the tunnels, with three small boys.  That might have been an even bigger challenge, I think!

No2 son had his final reply from his UCAS form today – he didn’t get an offer from St Andrews, but as he has four unconditional offers under his belt, he is not too distressed by this, and is going to accept a place at Edinburgh University.  It will be very quiet here when both he and No1 son are off at university this autumn, and we only have No3 son here.  Thankfully it is another two years before he goes, so I will have time to get used to the idea of the empty nest.  I must admit that I am looking forward to being able to keep the house a bit tidier – with five of us untidying, and only me tidying, I am fighting a losing battle – when it is only N and I, maybe I will have a better chance of success!

Anyway – I hope you all have a happy Easter, and that spring comes soon for all of us!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

