Sunny, warmer and happier.

Standard

I set my alarm for 11.15am today – on the basis that I needed a long, long sleep, but I did want to get up whilst it was still actually morning – and I achieved both things.  I did have some very bizarre dreams, but I slept well, and that is the main thing – and then I was up by 11.30, having got sucked into listening to the last 15 minutes of a programme on Radio 4.

It is a beautiful day here today, and I feel better.  Still aware of the tiredness and heaviness within myself, but more positive in general.

Much to my sons’ disgust, another delivery of yarn arrived this morning – another ebay purchase – this time it is Debbie Bliss cotton-silk mix – very soft and lovely to feel.  I am going to use it to knit a cushion cover – probably cabled, I think.  I don’t know if I will have enough yarn to do a front and a back, but I can always make a fabric back for the cushion, which would be fine.

I’ve also decided – well, nearly decided – what I am going to do with my skeins of Debbie Bliss Andes, in two shades of pink.  It is going to be a scarf, with deeper pink at the ends, and the lighter pink in the middle.  I am considering either feather and fan pattern for the whole scarf, or a different lace pattern either for the whole scarf, or for the deeper pink end sections, with rib or stocking stitch for the centre section.  Either way, I am going to need to wind the skeins into balls, and that is slightly daunting.

I’ve just remembered – I have a single skein of a turquoise slub yarn, from Colinette – bought at the Earls Court Knit and Stitch Show – and I wonder if there is a way that I could work that into the cushion cover design?  I will have to think about that – but it could look rather nice.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

