Arghhhhh – broken sleep.

Standard

To be fair, my sleep is never that good – but it tends to be a wee bit worse if a teenage son (No1, I am looking at you) comes in at 2.30am, setting No2 dog off into a barking frenzy, just at the point where I have drifted off to sleep, and am heading for deep sleep.

Neither N nor I got a particularly good night’s sleep, as a result of No1 son’s shenanigans, and both of us had headaches this morning – I still have mine.  He is out walking the dogs at the moment, so hopefully the fresh air will help him feel better.

We got a lot of tidying done yesterday – the library/office looks so much better – and we have even created three empty shelves, to allow expansion of my book collection.  I say we, but it was mainly N who did the work – I got this awful mental paralysis when faced with the enormity of the task, whereas he could see the steps needed, how and where to start, and what to do when each stage was finished – and he did an amazing job.

We are planning to do some more later on today, when he gets back with the dogs – we’d like to go through the filing drawers, and archive some papers to the loft, and get rid of some others – again, to make space.  I should be making a start, and I am going to when I have finished this, and got myself a drink.  Honestly.

I am not feeling very positive today, due to the fatigue and headache – these seem pretty constant at the moment, though worse today due to the broken night.  I just wish I could sleep the way I used to when I was younger – you know – where you fall asleep quickly and don’t wake up until the morning.  A few nights of sleep like that would help me enormously, I am sure – but I am equally sure I could only achieve them with the help of medication at the moment, and that would be ocunter productive because they would leave me feeling bleurgh in the morning.

Ah well – soldier on, I guess.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

