Good news!

Standard

Well – good news for me, at any rate – though the male members of the family have greeted it with horror – the news that I have won a selection of yarn from a knitting magazine competition that I had forgotten entering!!  I can’t even remember what yarn I am getting (and I don’t think I have the relevant magazine any more either) – so it is going to be a real surprise when it arrives!  My friend Chris broke the news to me at knitting group – she won a similar prize a month or so ago and was so excited for me that she couldn’t wait to tell me!

Unfortunately my deluded children think that I have enough yarn – I laugh in their faces – there is no such animal as too much yarn.  There is a vast bank of inspiration and yet-to-be-started projects and possibilities, all arranged in baskets in the conservatory (and hidden in other places round the house too), probably sufficient to keep me knitting and crocheting for some years to come – but there is no such thing as too much yarn.

My current list of projects includes a cardigan in lavender blue, a cushion cover in Debbie Bliss cotton/silk mix and turquoise Colinnette yarn, a cable-lace scarf in two colours of pink Debbie Bliss Andes yarn, and a vague concept of a granny square crocheted blanket.  Oh, and a couple of lace shawls, if I am feeling ambitious, and socks for my sister and her husband for christmas this year – if I get round to them.  Plus, of course, the tunic that I have not finished yet – though I am making progress – I have nearly finished the back, and will shortly need to shape the neck, then I can knit the front, shape that neckline, and then there’s just the sleeves left to do.  Said that quickly, it hardly seems like anything – lol!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

