This week’s challenge!

Standard

My lovely friend Chris has asked me to be part of a craft bombing event in May – where lots of different crafters are going to craft bomb all over the UK – pompoms, knitted flowers, felted birds, crochet things, all appearing as if by magic, in public spaces.  My friend is involved in one that is going to be a knitted/crocheted picnic, and I have volunteered to make some ‘sandwiches’ – I have a lovely brown-mix yarn (because wholemeal is better for you than white), and I am going to mix knitting and crochet to make ham, lettuce and tomato sandwiches, and cheese and tomato sandwiches – well, that is the plan, at any rate.

I have a picture in my mind of how they are going to look, and a plan of how I am going to make them, but we will have to see how well they actually turn out – finger crossed!  I will post some pictures here if they work out OK.

I seem to miss posting on a Monday fairly often – I have knitting group in the morning, and don’t get back from that until after 2pm usually, and then I go out in the evening for choir, and for some reason I don’t manage to blog in between – though there is plenty of time.  I seem to hit ‘stop’ and just veg in front of the tv.  We’ve even taken to knocking up the main part of Monday night supper on Sunday (ie the chilli or the bolognese sauce) so that I find it harder to mess up the timing of Monday’s supper before choir, and before the boys have to head out to hockey practice.  Hockey practice has now stopped for the summer, and choir practice will finish soon, after our last concert on the 25th of May – and then I will have all summer to get out of the habit of being organised (-ish) on a Monday night – and we will have to start all over, when rehearsals and training start again in the autumn.  Ho hum!

I am making progress on my sweater – the back is finished, and I shaped the neckline yesterday, at knitting group – and when I held it up against myself, the consensus was that I had got the shaping right, which is very good.

And I had not one, but two positive things yesterday.  Firstly, I had a long chat about depression and how I am dealing with it, with a friend at the knitting group, and it was a very positive experience – I felt I had got really close to this lady, and she was so lovely to me, too.  Then, at choir, I was talking to L, who sits next to me, and who is a great person, and asked her if she and her husband would like to come over to us for a meal or a drink sometime (they are fairly new to the area, and her husband knows almost nobody, so I thought it would be nice).  Not only did she say yes, but she also said she had been thinking about asking N and I the same thing!  She likes me.  That does still surprise me, but I believe it, which is progress.

Today is fairly grim here, weather-wise – high winds and plenty of rain (though both have died away at this precise moment), so I am hunkering down indoors, where it is warm!  Today’s positive thing was a lovely cuddle in bed with N – he went into work late, and so we had time for coffee and snuggles before he had his shower and headed off.  It was lovely – so secure and warm and full of love.  I am lucky to have him.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

