My first knitted sandwich!

Standard

I am really proud of this – especially as I didn’t work from a pattern to make it – I just made it up myself!  I think it looks pretty convincing – and it is the first savoury item for the picnic.  I’ve also made a start on a wholemeal cheese and tomato sandwich (there does need to be something for the vegetarians, of course) – the bread is knitted, and I am working on knitting the cheese.  The tomato slices will be circles of crochet – and the lettuce was crocheted too.  I learned free form crochet at a tutorial with a lovely friend, and this was the perfect opportunity to use it.  I am not sure how many sandwiches I am going to make – it’s hard to guess how many will be needed – but they are not very difficult or time consuming, so I shall just carry on making them this week, whenever the spirit moves, and see how many I end up with.

I have posted this picture on my Facebook, and people have said nice things about it – and I am glowing at the things they’ve said – and I am believing them too.

Emotionally, I am feeling fairly good today – though not so great physically.  I stayed up too late last night, waiting for N to call (he’s away on business until Thursday night), and then had to sort out the kitchen and the dogs before I went to bed – and even though it was well gone midnight, I still had to read before I went to sleep, so it was not far off 2am when I finally dropped off.  I know this is not good for me, and it explains why I wanted and needed a lie in this morning – and failed utterly to get up by 8.45am.  But it is just one day, not the end of the world, and I will try again tomorrow.  And when I did get up, I cleaned the shower cubicle before having my shower, and that is a positive thing – having been able to motivate myself to do some housework.  I may go totally wild and clean the kitchen too!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

