Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear.

Standard

Three lie-ins on the trot.  Three mornings where I have not achieved my ‘Up before 8.45’ small change.  I am not going to use the word failure, but it is sneaking round there at the back of my mind, whispering to me.  I am ignoring it so far.  Tomorrow will be different – for a start, I have a mumsnet meet-up in Glasgow to go to, so I will have to get up in time – and anyhow, I am going to get back that small change.

Maybe it was a bit too ambitious to set my alarm for 8.30 rather than 7.45.  Maybe I need more than 15 minutes in that hinterland between sleep and wakefulness, where the snooze button gets deployed a few times, and I listen to random, disconnected fragments of Radio 4.  I will set my alarm earlier next week, and see if that helps.

I had more fun with my knitting and crochet last night.  I finished the cheese, tomato and lettuce sandwich (picture below) and then, after a suggestion from a friend, I crocheted a slice of cucumber – which inspired me to crochet a slice of boiled egg too – so that’s the fillings for my next two sandwiches decided!

I am having such fun doing this project.  It helps that it is quite quick to finish each sandwich, so I get that buzz of achievement quite quickly and easily, unlike other projects that are far more long term, so I get discouraged and slow down, which means they are even slower to complete, which disheartens me even more.  Plus, this project is so daft that it is fun to do – I think what I am making will bring a smile to people’s faces, and I love that.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

