Better today.

Standard

I’m not so tired, to start with.  I slept quite well last night, despite the way I was feeling, and lay in for most of the morning – with a visit from the dog for a cuddle – until N brought up breakfast and coffee.  I feel better about things this morning, and we weem to be back on an even keel – back to normal (whatever normal is).

We are planning to do more sorting out this weekend.  I want to sort out some books and yarn for the charity shop, and N wants to tackle some of the stuff in No3 son’s room – he has a cupboard which we think is full of toys that none of them play with any more, and which could readily go to the charity shop too.  And this would give No3 son some more space in his room, which might enable him to keep it tidier ha ha ha ha ha.

I know that the state that No2 and No3 sons keep their rooms in frustrates the hell out of N, but my attitude is just to shut the door on it, and not to let it bother me.  This autumn, No2 will go off to university, and we can do as we did in No1’s room, and have a really good clear out, and the same applies in two years time for No3 son.  And eventually they will move out for good, and we can reclaim those rooms properly.  I have a dream of a craft room, with lots of storage for yarn and material and all the other stuff I need/can’t let go of!

I think life is too short to stress over the mess in a teenage boy’s bedroom.  They are never going to be tidy animals, and it is better not to get frustrated about trying to make them so.  I wish I could convince N of this.  I know he stresses and worries about things, and if he could let go of the unimportant things, like tidy bedrooms, that would take some weight off his shoulders, which would be a good thing, I think.  That may be asking a bit too much for someone with his personality, though.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

