No3 son is 16 – I must be old!

Standard

Where have the days/months/years gone?  And what happened to that snuggly little baby?  He refused to sit on my lap this morning, for fear of damaging my poor, elderly knees (sarcastic little sod).  And he’s having to spend his birthday revising for his chemistry standard grade tomorrow.  Into each life some rain must fall, but this seems a bit of an unlucky downpour, to me.

I am contemplating contacting the choir’s conductor, and asking him for some help and support – but as he is a student himself, coming up to his end of year exams and recital, and much younger than me, I am not sure it is fair to dump all my angst on him.  I already had a mini-meltdown all over No2 son last night – and he was an absolute star and did a wonderful job of being comforting, supportive and a bit bracing at the same time.  But it’s not really fair for me to dump this on them, is it.

I did try to tell N about it on the phone last night – he’s away on business again – but he didn’t really seem to get how upset I was, and passed it off then went on to discussing today’s meeting and travel arrangements.  But maybe he is more likely to be supportive in person.

No3’s birthday cake is in the oven, and then I have to make the butter cream to fill it.  Unusually, he doesn’t want butter cream all over the cake, just on the top and in the middle – this is a departure from previous years, when the rule has been as much butter cream as the cake can possibly accomodate.  Maybe it’s a sign of maturity – who knows!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

