Some good news.

Standard

I don’t know if I have mentioned it, but I suspect I have been grinding/clenching my teeth in my sleep recently – it would explain why my jaw is always achy and tired, and particularly why I am getting headaches every day.  I did discuss it with the dentist, who recommended a mouth guard, but when I tried an over-the-counter one, I couldn’t tolerate it.

Anyway, yesterday I did a bit more googling on bruxism (the medical term for teeth grinding/clenching), and found out that it is a possible side-effect of the antidepressants I take – citalopram, and that made me realise that this problem has come on since I switched to taking my ADs at night, rather than in the morning.  I did this because I also get nausea as a side effect of the tablets, and I thought it would be a good idea to be nauseous when I was asleep – which it was (it’s only faint nausea, so doesn’t keep me awake).  However, it would seem that the bruxism is worse at night if I take the tablets at bedtime – so I have switched back to mornings.

My jaw is still aching and tired, and I am a bit tired and headache-y too, but I am hoping that the effects with wear off gradually, and I will feel better.

I also got a wonderful addition to my yarn stash yesterday – I won a monthly give-away from a knitting magazine, and a huge carton with 66 balls of various yarns arrived yesterday, and is sitting in the office where I am writing this, waiting for me to sort it out and decide what to do with it all.

One of the yarns is my favourite cerise pink, with sequins on, and I am going to use that to make a little cardigan that ties in the front, to go over my favourite maxi dress – I’m intending to wear that to my nursing reunion on October, so this wool is a real bonus.

I’m not sure what I will do with all the other yarns, and the patterns that arrived with them, but some of the yarn and patterns I will give away at knitting group next week – it would be greedy to keep all this largesse to myself!  I might use some of it – an acrylic in a lavender blue – to knit or crochet a couple more blankets for Woolly Hugs – either for Billie’s blankets, which go to sick children in Africa, or the mini-Hugs that go to Yorkhill Hospital in Glasgow, as comfort blankets for sick children there – and the chenille-style, multicoloured yarn might make rather nice, snuggly comfort blankets too.

Image

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

