So far, so good.

Standard

I got up today as soon as my alarm went off – in fact, I was up before the alarm, thanks to the dogs arriving on the bed at 6.28am – No2 dog had demolished the stairgate to get upstairs!  That woke me up, and then 30kg of black lab cross arrived on the bed and made herself comfortable snuggled up to my back!  No1 labrador arrived soon afterwards, having snuck upstairs in the hopes of getting to the cat food before I noticed she’d arrived, but her cunning plan was for naught, and she too ended up on the bed with me.

So – I was up in good time, despite the fact that I still have a nasty cold and am feeling rather grim, plus I didn’t sleep too well last night, and I don’t have anything arranged for today that would mean I needed to get up early.  And I washed my hair when I got up, so I feel fresh and clean.

I am really trying with the small changes – which have slipped badly of late.  And last night, the last empire biscuit was calling to me, as I headed upstairs to bed, and I nearly caved in – but I didn’t!  I did take a savoury snack up to bed, but as I have decided that I am going to concentrate on reducing the amount of sugar in my diet first, and then look at other things I can change, in order to lose weight and get healthier, I decided that was OK.

I’ve had a thought about the blanket I am crocheting.  I’ve seen a picture of a crochet blanket that is made up of lots of different squares and rectangles, all different sizes, patchworked together to make the most beautiful, random blanket – and I wonder if I could have a go at this.  It would mean I could work through some more of the crochet squares and motifs that are in the books I have, but would make the blanket a bit harder, I think.  I will give it a go, and see how I do.  I am loving the colours, and working with them, and I had a moment of inspiration last night, when I was thinking about crocheting an edging onto the blanket, and would I need to buy more yarn for this – and of course I won’t – I have 10 balls of beautiful, lavender-blue, acrylic yarn from the stash I won, and I think that would look good as the edging for the blanket!

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

