Hmm…

Standard

Didn’t manage to get up on time this morning – it was just after 9am when I hauled myself out of bed.  Maybe I can cut myself a bit of slack this week because I am poorly – this cold is still hanging round, and it is making it harder to get to sleep at night.

The lovely lady who made the wreath I posted a picture of, has got in touch with me to answer a question about the wreath and the yarn to use.  I am beginning to think I could actually make one of these – well, I would have to make three, wouldn’t I.

I’ve bought some more yarn for my blanket – I have decided that it needs some lime green in there.  And I have bought some chiffon scarves so I can try nuno felting – plus I have told my mum I am going to try making a felted iris for her.  And I am bidding on an inflatable beach ball, that I can use for making felted vessels.  At least I am using the yarn I have bought, because otherwise, I am far better at shopping for craft projects than at actually starting the projects.  I suspect that it is because, whilst the project is still just a concept, it is perfect, and nothing has gone wrong with it, but when I actually start, the reality often falls short of my dream, and that is dispiriting – so better to keep the projects and the supplies as beautiful potential, rather than flawed reality.

But reality is flawed, life is flawed, people are flawed, and it would be far better for me to live in the real world, accepting the flaws – especially the flaws in myself – and loving anyway, than constantly dreaming of a perfect life, and missing out on today.  That is a pretty deep thought, all from buying some yarn, a beach ball and some chiffon scarves.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

