Apparently I am a loose hooker!

Standard

Or so I was told when I wondered online why my granny squares looked baggy and untidy.  I have tried using smaller hooks, and that has made a distinct improvement, but I am struggling with how to increase my tension whilst still being able to manipulate the yarn.  But practice makes perfect so, when I have finished this post, I will do some crochet whilst I watch the Heineken cup final – I love a bit of rugby, especially when the lovely Jonny Wilkinson is playing.

Since I have also managed to get the date of my choir’s concert wrong, I also have an extra day in which to recover from this cold, so fingers crossed I will have a voice by this time tomorrow – oh, and that the tickly cough will have taken itself off too.

I’ve been a bit productive today – two pieces of mending have been done, and the tesco delivery has been unpacked and put away – N and I did that together.  And I am going to make toad-in-the-hole for supper tonight – which is one of my favourite meals, even though it is not particularly diet conscious.  I suppose it helps that I won’t be making mashed potato to go with it – I reckon it provides enough carbs on its own.

I took a big step yesterday, and posted a memory on my old school’s Friends Reunited page, talking about how I was bullied at school, and the effects it had on me.  It was directed at the people who bullied me and, to some extent, to those who knew it was going on but ignored it and ignored my pain at the same time.  I do understand the latter to some extent – siding with the bullies’ victim risks marking you out as a victim yourself, and what looks like cowardice from a bitter point of view might more charitably be defined as self protection.

I wonder if any of the bullies – or indeed any of my former classmates – will read it and if so, what their reaction will be.  I have no expectations, but am mildly pessimistic about the results of what I wrote.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

