Today’s outlook – sunny and mildly optimistic.

Standard

I had a good visit to the GP this morning.  We discussed my hypothyroid theory, and although he discounted it at once, because my last thyroid levels were absolutely perfect, he did take a blood test that can show if I might develop hypothyroidism in the future.  We also discussed coming off the citalopram, and he reassured me that, coming off the drug too fast can’t cause depression – if I come off it and get depressed, it is because I was going to get depressed anyway, and that maybe it is a case of me having to re-learn the ups and downs of real emotions, because the citalopram has smoothed those out and damped them down for so long.  He also said (if I recall correctly) that the citalopram might not have been helping me that much anyway – and strangely that is very reassuring, as it suggests that I will be able to cope without it, as I have been coping anyway.

So, I am going to cut down to 30mg for a fortnight, and then to 20mg, probably for a month, with the goal of going down to 10mg within a couple of months.  I really want to do this, and thanks to what the GP said, I believe that I can do it.

We also talked about diet, and I have a lot of new information to take on board.  For example, I can’t just fill up on salad and veg because they have calories, and the reason that diet gurus say you can eat them freely is because most people won’t over eat veg.  He told me not to be afraid of food, but to cut down generally.  Plus I have to start eating something in the mornings, otherwise my insulin balance is all screwed up, and my body starts storing energy as fat because it believes it’s a famine.  So I am going to get some rice cakes or oat cakes, and start the day with a couple of those – that seems nice and easy.

I got the impression from what he was saying that he believes carbohydrates are the big problem – he talked about them making people feel down and drowsy, and good lean protein such as steak was mentioned as something one shouldn’t feel is forbidden.

He spoke of making small changes in my diet, and being patient whilst I wait for my weight to fall.  So I shall be considering what small changes I can make in my diet that will help me cut down on the amount of calories I take in, and that will give me a balanced, healthy diet.

All in all, it was a very positive visit – far more so than other GP visits I have had – and I felt supported, listened to, and encouraged, rather than judged and ignored.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

