No need to blurt everything out.

Standard

I realised today that I don’t actually have to tell everyone that I have developed type 2 diabetes.  This should have been obvious to me, but it wasn’t.  So, instead of telling everyone, and worrying that they are judging me, and thinking that I brought it on myself, I can tell only a few people, who I trust, and just get on quietly with the business of losing weight and tackling the diabetes.

Low carb appears to be the way to go – alongside low fat – though I have had conflicting advice on that.  My own take on it is that cutting out the refined carbs, sticking to complex, low GI carbs, and eating more veg, whilst at the same time cutting down on the amount of fat in my diet (much fewer creamy/cheesy sauces, taking visible fat off meat, dry frying etc, and reducing the amount of butter I use) would seem to be the best way to go.

I will be seeing the GP in a fortnight or so, when I have had a second fasting blood test, and I assume I will get more information then – and maybe a referral to the diabetic nurse for more advice.  Until then, I will concentrate on eating sensibly and trying to lose some weight.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

