Knitting goes on tour!

Standard

It was our knitting group’s day out today – we went down to Seamills Hydro at West Kilbride, and we had a lovely day down there.  They gave us an area of the bar to ourselves, and tempted us with delicious coffees, cakes and lunches – though I am proud to say I resisted the cakes – and the home made tablet that came with the coffee, and also resisted the calorifically delicious sounding lunch options in favour of a less calorific but equally delicious seafood salad.

I should also confess that I did not knit at the knitting day out – I went on making squares for my bright crochet blanket, and completed two squares, and made a good start on a bigger, striped patch too.  And more importantly, I spent the day with some of the loveliest people it is my privilege to know.  Each and every woman in that group is caring, wise, funny and inspired – as well as being demon knitters and gossipers!

Unfortunately I got home to a row between two sons about who would cover a paper round, and had to throw myself into the middle of a mega stress-fest – and I am still enjoying the resulting headache.  But that is just part of the ups and downs of normal life – it can’t be all happy, coffee and cake and gossip with wise knitters – sometimes one has to be a strict parent too.

And now I think my headache and I should go off to bed, with a nice glass of soothing milk.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

