Ooops – I seem to have missed yesterday.

Standard

I am doing quite well with my diet at the moment – if I have a snack between meals it is rice cakes or fruit, and I am eating pretty healthy meals too (apart from Monday, when I threw in the towel, and we had sausages and oven chips – which could have been worse, I suppose).  I have got another fasting blood test tomorrow morning, so will need to starve from about 7pm tonight.  It will be interesting to see what that shows, and then, I guess, we will decide what to do – treat with drugs or just diet.

I did talk to N about the possibility of signing up for a gym again.  The local authority has a brand new sports centre, with pool and gym that has opened up about 10 minutes drive away – and I feel that that is probably close enough that I could motivate myself and get there regularly, so I am going to look up how much it costs.  No3 son has membership there – it was his choice of birthday present this year – so taking him there would give me an extra push to go.  Exercise would be very useful for me, because it reduces insulin resistance (or something like that – I can’t remember properly right now).

Reducing my citalopram dosage seems to be going well so far.  I am comfortable on 20mg, and contemplating going down to 10mg in a week or two.  I am actually seeing a light at the end of the tunnel (and I don’t think it is a train).  I might actually be off the tablets altogether within the next couple of months!!  Yay me!

I’m meeting up with a friend on Friday – we both have similar issues, and hopefully we can give eachother some support – as well as having a good, long blether and catch-up, of course!  We are meeting at a lovely cafe and garden centre, and I might treat myself to a plant or two whilst I am there.  Maybe, just maybe, No1 dog is now old enough and sensible enough that I can plant things in the back garden without her immediately digging them up and towing them round by the stem until they are dead.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

