Another good day – this could become a habit…

Standard

The latter half of yesterday was good – I crocheted three more squares for my random patchwork blanket, including one which is a Ravelry pattern that starts out as a circle, and gets squared off in the final round, and is a nice square and easy to do.  I also realised that when I lack the inspiration or motivation to crochet (because I can’t summon the motivation to learn a new square or remember an old one), then what I need to do is get on with sewing in all the ends on the squares I have already made.  I think I am up to over 30 squares/rectangles now – and most of them have at least 6 ends to be sewn in, so if I leave it ’til the end, I will be sewing in ends for ages, whereas if I do it as I go along, it won’t be such a big job.

Today started with a fasting blood test – to confirm whether I have type 2 diabetes.  The results will be in next week, and when I’ve got those, I will make another appointment with the doctor.  Interestingly, one of my friends was telling me that she is treated for hypothyroidism, despite never having a thyroid function test that was abnormal – and I have long wondered if my sypmtoms could be hypothyroidism – dry skin, thinning hair, weight gain, impaired memory and cognitive function, and tiredness – plus my mother has hypothyroidism – so I am going to ask the gp to refer me to a consultant, if I can’t convince him to give me a trial on thyroxine, to see if it helps my symptoms.  Hypothyroidism would explain so much, and is so easily treated.

Thanks to having to get up early for the blood test, I am awake and getting on with the day earlier than I have been of late, which is another positive thing.  

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

