Some good news!

Standard

Apparently I do not have type 2 diabetes!  I am pre-diabetic, but last week’s blood test was under the diagnostic threshold for diabetes – it had fallen from 7.9mmols to 6.3mmols.  Obviously I do need to lose weight, otherwise it is only a matter of time before I do develop diabetes, but it is still good news.

The doctor is happy with the changes that I have made to my diet, and with the fact that I am going to join the gym, and I feel reasonably positive.  Actually, no – that’s a lie.  I am struggling to make myself believe that I can lose weight.  Intellectually I know it is possible – and that given the laws of nature and biology, if I cut down my calorie intake and increase my exercise levels, I will lose weight – but I have failed at this whole diet thing for so long that I find it hard to believe in my heart that I won’t fail again this time.  And it is going to be a very long road, and I am worried that I will find it hard to keep my motivation up.

I think weighing myself regularly, and maybe keeping a food and activity diary, will be the way to go.  At the moment, I weigh 137kg (on the surgery scales).  I won’t get on those again until I see the GP in November for another fasting blood test (to check how things are going), and at the moment I think I am too heavy for our scales at home.  Hopefully the gym will have a set of scales, and I will be able to keep track using those.

If I can start to see an improvement – my weight coming down, and my fitness and flexibility getting better, then that should spur me on to achieve more.

About sdtgcraftygenius

I'm in my late forties, mum of three teenage boys, living near Glasgow. I've been a nurse, studied politics and music at university, and now I am a stay-at-home mother. I've suffered from depression for many years (only recently diagnosed), and take antidepressants daily to keep me on a manageable level.

Leave a Reply

